History
Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
...
By ...
Embed:
Embedded player size:
Embedded player preview:
Yaa Gyasi author of Homegoing
June 11, 2016 04:42 PM PDT
itunes pic

“Homegoing is an inspiration.” —Ta-Nehisi Coates

A novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana and along the way also becomes a truly great American novel. Extraordinary for its exquisite language, its implacable sorrow, its soaring beauty, and for its monumental portrait of the forces that shape families and nations, Homegoing heralds the arrival of a major new voice in contemporary fiction.

Mary Roach author of Grunt
June 11, 2016 04:35 PM PDT
itunes pic

Best-selling author Mary Roach explores the science of keeping human beings intact, awake, sane, uninfected, and uninfested in the bizarre and extreme circumstances of war. - Amazon

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored and produced by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs Monday's at 5PM on WCHE AM 1520.

Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Mary Norris author of Between You and Me
June 11, 2016 04:25 PM PDT
itunes pic

The most irreverent and helpful book on language since the #1 New York Times bestseller Eats, Shoots & Leaves.

Mary Norris has spent more than three decades in The New Yorker's copy department, maintaining its celebrated high standards. Now she brings her vast experience, good cheer, and finely sharpened pencils to help the rest of us in a boisterous language book as full of life as it is of practical advice. - Amazon

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored and produced by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs on Mondays at 5PM on WCHE AM 1520.
Visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Callan Wink author of Dog Run Moon
April 12, 2016 06:02 PM PDT
itunes pic

In the tradition of Richard Ford, Annie Proulx, and Kent Haruf comes a dazzling debut story collection by a young writer from the American West who has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, and The Best American Short Stories.

A construction worker on the run from the shady local businessman whose dog he has stolen; a Custer’s Last Stand reenactor engaged in a long-running affair with the Native American woman who slays him on the battlefield every year; a middle-aged high school janitor caught in a scary dispute over land and cattle with her former stepson: Callan Wink’s characters are often confronted with predicaments few of us can imagine. But thanks to the humor and remarkable empathy of this supremely gifted writer, the nine stories gathered in Dog Run Moon are universally transporting and resonant. - Amazon

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored and produced by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs on Mondays at 5PM EST on WCHE AM 1520. Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Chris Cleave author of Everyone Brave is Forgiven
April 11, 2016 05:15 AM PDT
itunes pic

The “insightful, stark, and heartbreaking” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) novel about three lives entangled during World War II from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Little Bee. - Amazon

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored and produced by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs Mondays at 5PM EST on WCHE AM 1520. Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Peter Ross Range author of 1924: The Year That Made Hitler
April 06, 2016 04:30 PM PDT
itunes pic

The dark story of Adolf Hitler's life in 1924--the year that made a monster

Before Adolf Hitler's rise to power in Germany, there was 1924. This was the year of Hitler's final transformation into the self-proclaimed savior and infallible leader who would interpret and distort Germany's historical traditions to support his vision for the Third Reich. -Amazon

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs Mondays at 5PM EST on WCHE AM 1520. Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Kate Dicamillo author of Raymie Nightingale
April 04, 2016 05:37 AM PDT
itunes pic

Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father, who left town two days ago with a dental hygienist, will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home.

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored and produced by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs Mondays at 5PM EST on WCHE AM 1520. Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Helen McDonald author of Shaler’s Fish and H is for Hawk
March 28, 2016 05:46 PM PDT
itunes pic

Before Helen Macdonald rose to international acclaim with her "beautiful and nearly feral" (New York Times) bestselling memoir H Is for Hawk, she wrote a collection of poetry, Shaler's Fish.

In robust, lyrical verse, Shaler's Fish roams both the outer and inner landscapes of the poet's universe, seamlessly fusing reflections on language, science, and literature, with the loamy environments of the natural worlds around her.

H is for Hawk - One of the New York Times Book Review's 10 Best Books of the Year

ON MORE THAN 25 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR LISTS: including TIME (#1 Nonfiction Book), NPR, O, The Oprah Magazine (10 Favorite Books), Vogue (Top 10), Vanity Fair, Washington Post, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Times, San Francisco Chronicle (Top 10), Miami Herald, St. Louis Post Dispatch, Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top 10), Library Journal (Top 10), Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Slate, Shelf Awareness, Book Riot, Amazon (Top 20) - Amazon

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored and produced by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs Mondays at 5PM on WCHE AM 1520 EST. Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Karan Mahajan author of The Association of Small Bombs
March 26, 2016 05:20 PM PDT
itunes pic

"Brilliant, troubling...superbly suspenseful...Mr. Mahajan’s writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery...The sharpest passages examine the terrorist mind-set and the demented rationales for mass murder with such acid-etched clarity that it’s possible to feel the deadly magnetism of the arguments...The finest [novel] I’ve read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe."
—Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs Mondays at 5PM on WCHE AM 1520. Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Fergus Bordewich author of The First Congress: How James Madison, George Washington, and a Group of Extraordinary Men Invented the Government
March 26, 2016 05:11 PM PDT
itunes pic

The little known story of perhaps the most productive Congress in US history, the First Federal Congress of 1789–1791.

The First Congress was the most important in US history, says prizewinning author and historian Fergus Bordewich, because it established how our government would actually function. Had it failed—as many at the time feared it would—it’s possible that the United States as we know it would not exist today. - Amazon

The Avid Reader Show is sponsored and produced by Wellington Square Bookshop in Chester County, PA. The Show airs Mondays at 5 PM EST on WCHE AM 1520. Please visit our website at www.wellingtonsquarebooks.com

Next Page